Department of Jammu & Kashmir Affairs

Font decrease 
Font Normal 
Font Increase 
High Contrast 
Normal Contrast |
External Link : Read more about Duties of Citizen Contest External Link : Read more about Digital India External Link : Read more about Digital Locker External Link : Read more about National Scholorship Portal External Link : Read more about E-Hospital North BlockNorth Block
» Department of Jammu & Kashmir Affairs


Jammu & Kashmir Division


Role & Function

  • The Jammu & Kashmir Division deals with the Constitutional provisions with respect to the State of Jammu and Kashmir, administration of the Armed Forces (J&K) Special Powers Act, 1990 (21 of 1990) and all matters relating to the State of Jammu and Kashmir, including counter terrorism within Jammu and Kashmir and coordination in respect of subjects/matters specifically allotted to any other Ministry/Department like coordination with Ministry of Defence as regards manning and managing the line of control between India and Pakistan, but excluding those with which the Ministry of External Affairs is concerned. The Division also coordinates with various Ministries/Departments, primarily concerned with development and welfare activities in Jammu and Kashmir..

Top >>

Overview of J&K

  • The State of Jammu & Kashmir is situated in the northernmost part of India - capital Srinagar (summer) and Jammu (winter).
  • One of the most beautiful places in the world - snow-bound Himalayan peaks and glaciers, pristine rivers and valleys, dense coniferous forests, and fresh mountain air - popular as Heaven on Earth..
  • Shares borders with Pakistan in the west, China in the north and east, and the Indian states of Punjab and Himachal Pradesh in the south.
  • It consists of three distinct regions Kashmir valley, Jammu, and Ladakh.
The area and population of the three regions
Region Area (Sq. Miles) Population (2011 Census)
Kashmir Valley 8,639 5,35,0811
Jammu Region 12,378 69,07,623
Ladakh Region 33,554 2,90,492
Total 54,571 1,25,48,926
  • Languages - Kashmiri, Dogri, Pahari, Punjabi, Gojari, Ladakhi or Bodhi, Balti, Dardic.
  • For administrative purposes, the State is divided into two Divisions, namely Jammu and Kashmir. The divisions are further sub-divided into 22 districts viz. Jammu, Kathua, Samba, Poonch, Rajouri, Udhampur, Reasi, Ramban, Doda, Kishtwar in Jammu Division and Srinagar, Anantnag, Pulwama, Kupwara, Shopian, Ganderbal, Bandipora, Baramulla, Budgam, Kulgam, Leh, Kargil in Kashmir Division.

Top >>

Budget & Schemes

Top >>

Acts & Rules

Top >>

Rehabilitation Policy


Top >>


  • Hit Count: 63,729,267

Contents owned and maintained by Ministry of Home Affairs

Emblem Ministry of Home Affairs Indian Flag