Union Territory Division

Font decrease 
Font Normal 
Font Increase 
High Contrast 
Normal Contrast |
External Link : Read more about Duties of Citizen Contest External Link : Read more about Digital India External Link : Read more about Digital Locker External Link : Read more about National Scholorship Portal External Link : Read more about E-Hospital North BlockNorth Block
» Union Territory Division


Union Territory Division
The Division deals with all legislative and constitutional matters relating to Union Territories, including National Capital Territory of Delhi. It also functions as the cadre controlling authority of the Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory (AGMUT) cadre of Indian Administrative Service (IAS)/Indian Police Service (IPS) as also Delhi-Andaman and Nicobar Island Civil Service (DANICS)/ Delhi-Andaman and Nicobar Island Police Service (DANIPS). Further, it is responsible for over-seeing the crime and law & order situation in Union Territories.
There are seven Union Territories, namely--
Out of the 7 UTs, two UTs, viz. Puducherry and NCT of Delhi are having Legislative Assemblies. Remaining 5 UTs are without Legislatures.:

Lieutenant Governors and Administrator of Union Territories

Chief Secretaries and Adviser to Administrator of Union Territories

Heads of Police

Constitutional Provisions
  • The Union territories are administered in accordance with the provisions of Article 239 to 241 of the Constitution of India.
  • The two UTs with Legislatures and the UT of Andaman and Nicobar Islands have Lt. Governors as Administrators. The Governor of Punjab functions as the Administrator of the UT of Chandigarh and a senior IAS officer functions as Advisor to the Administrator.
  • The remaining 3 UTs viz. Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Lakshadweep are administered through IAS officers who are appointed as Administrators.
Administrative Arrangements
  • Under the Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961, certain subjects pertaining to the UTs have been allocated to the Ministry of Home Affairs.
  • Some matters pertaining to the UTs have been specifically allotted to other Ministries/Departments.
  • MHA particularly deals with Legislative matters, Finance and Budget and Services for the UTs.
Administrative Interface
  • Administrator’s Advisory Councils are set up in the UTs without Legislatures to advice the Administrators on matters concerning the UT.
  • Home Minister’s Advisory Committees (HMACs) are set up in the UTs without legislature to address general issues relating to social and economic development of the UTs.
  • For the island UTs of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Lakshadweep, there is Island Development Authority (IDA) under the Prime Minister. There is a Standing Committee for the IDA under Dy. Chairman, Planning Commission.


Constitution of the New Delhi Municipal Council

Schemes and Budget




Relief/ Rehabilitation Packages

Police Reforms in UTs


Public Notice


  • Hit Count: 63,729,055

Contents owned and maintained by Ministry of Home Affairs

Emblem Ministry of Home Affairs Indian Flag